Pig Iron Cola – Review

6-4-10

Pig Iron Cola

A label leaning more towards the “rougher others,” reminiscent of bikers and southern bbq.  Ugly handling of necessary information, but easily distinguishable ‘pig’ logo.  The bottle is standard and boring.  The cap is roughed up black paint with the aluminum showing through.  It looks like it happened naturally, which would be unique – but it could have been accidental.  I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt.  There is no information on the bottle that hints at the flavour, so I’m not sure what to expect.  Good cola colour, just a bit dark.
.
First scent is kola and citrus – seems standard fare for a cola.  Slightly cherry scent, but not medicinal.  Strong kola flavour is carried well over from the scent with lemon, orange, and some very slight nuttiness.  The sugar content tastes microbrewed – it’s a nice break from the colas I haven’t really enjoyed these past couple reviews.
.
There’s some cinnamon coming out of the kola, along with vanilla to a lesser amount.
.
Texture is pretty much perfect.  The teeth feel slightly chalky afterwards.  The aforementioned flavours kind of bounce back and forth as I deplete the bottle.
.
Carbonation is good; doesn’t fizz up too much, but definitely not flat.
This brings nothing new to the cola “table,” but what it does, it does right.  One of the best standard colas I’ve ever had.  Finally, it’s not very filling; can’t wait for that next sip.
.
.
Label:  2 Decent enough logo – it stands out – but the rest of the label is boring and ugly.  Definitely reminiscent of “BBQ,” which is who it’s made by.
.
Bottle:  3 The cap is genius, but the rest of the bottle is as boring as they come.  They balance out for a perfectly average score.
.
Colour:  4 As I said earlier, just a bit dark.
.
Nose:  5 There is a slight variety of flavours.  Typically, I would say it’s not too complex.  Why I refrain, however, because what scents there are, are classic cola.  No strange herbs, spices, or fruits.
.
Density: 4 Other than the chalky feel of the teeth, no negatives.
.
Flavour:  5 This is cola, make no mistake about it.
.
Caffeine: 3 Nothing spectactular.  I felt some effects.  Perfectly Average.
.
.
Overall:  5/5
Let’s get this straight.  This is not the best cola I’ve had, nor is it my favourite.  It is nothing new and doesn’t impress.  One word can sum this up:  Solid.  I like colas with strange new flavours that are done right and make me mouth “Wow.”  Pig Iron Cola makes me mouth “Mm.”  This should be the replacement of Classic Coca-Cola.
.
Average:  3.17 or 26/35
.
.
Conclusion:  For cola lovers, I can’t see any beverage being better than this.  Those who like to stray from the normal cola path won’t find anything to impress them here, but for those who love cola for cola – this is your drink.

Leave a comment